Axon event store - where exactly is it stored when Axon server is being used.

Hello,
Firstly I am a newbie to microservices and Axon so pardon me for the basic question. I understand that Axon provides by default its own event store. I came across below code example that implements Axon with CQRS-ES using Bank Account as example.

https://github.com/dashsaurabh/event-sourcing-cqrs-axon-spring-boot/tree/master/src/main/java/com/progressivecoder/es/eventsourcingcqrsaxonspringboot/aggregates

The project maven excludes Axon server connector and is using H2 in memory database to store Account details.
When I run the code I am able to see the Account details in H2 using H2 console however the Events table is missing. So I am trying to understand where exactly the event is stored.

The attached document has details about my question.

Thanks,
Amith

Axon.docx (142 KB)

Hello Amit,

I am still trying to get somebody to pick your question up. However we are in the midst of a new release (4.3) and our developers are busy. We will try to give you an answer no later than Monday, okay?

Henk

Hello Amit,

In this particular example, you are excluding Axon Connector totally. This means that your application is not going to use (and connect) Axon Server as an Event Store and message broker.
It is going to fall back to SQL (H2 in your case) database as an Event Store for you because you have spring-boot-starter-data-jpa included in the POM.

To clarify the answer, you should get familiar with the event sourcing pattern and CQRS pattern first.

Your aggregate is the most important component. It is responsible for handling commands and publishing events as information that the state of your aggregate has been changed.
By using event sourcing your aggregate is saved as a series of events in DOMAIN_EVENT_ENTRY table (event store).