Using an aggregate to validate a command which creates a new aggregate of the same type

Hi all. I’m new to this framework, so apologies if I’m missing something really basic.

This is for a new open source project, the full code exhibiting this issue can be found here:
https://github.com/ddouglascarr/liquidcanon-api/tree/unit-cqrs

The rule I’m trying to implement is: “a member can create a new member only if they are an admin”. My problem is that I’m getting an EventStoreException in a test.

Both admin and non-admin members use the same aggregate, the only difference is that admins have an admin attribute. (accessed from MemberAggregate.getAdmin())

I have written different commands and events for creating admins and non-admins, but they both operate on the same aggreagate (MemberAggregate).

The above rule is implemented in this command handler (https://github.com/ddouglascarr/liquidcanon-api/blob/unit-cqrs/src/main/java/org/ddouglascarr/command/member/MemberCommandHandler.java):

@CommandHandler
public void handleCreateMember(CreateMemberCommand command)
        throws MemberUnprivilegedException
{
    MemberAggregate requester = repository.load(command.getRequestingMemberId());
    if (!requester.getAdmin()) {
        throw new MemberUnprivilegedException();
    }
    MemberAggregate memberAggregate = new MemberAggregate(
            command.getId(), command.getLogin(), command.getPassword(),
            command.getNotifyEmail(), false );
    repository.add(memberAggregate);
}

This test is failing (https://github.com/ddouglascarr/liquidcanon-api/blob/unit-cqrs/src/test/java/org/ddouglascarr/integration/command/MemberCommandComponentTests.java):

@Test
public void createMemberShouldCreateMember() throws Exception
{
    fixture.given(new AdminMemberCreatedEvent(ADMIN_MEMBER_ID, ADMIN_LOGIN, PASSWORD))
            .when(new CreateMemberCommand(ADMIN_MEMBER_ID, MEMBER_ID, LOGIN, PASSWORD, EMAIL))