Snapshots on Event

Hi all,

I’m curious about whether or not it’s possible to configure a snapshot trigger definition that creates snapshots when a specific event is published.

I’m just learning Axon and am making a small shopping cart application. My hope is to create snapshots whenever there’s a CartClearedEvent or a CartCheckoutEvent. I’ve looked around and it seems like the only possible option for snapshotting is after a set number of events. Is this correct? Or am I missing something?

If this isn’t a feature, maybe it could be one that could be looked into?

Any help or info is appreciated!

Thanks,
Chris

Hi Chris,

To get a bit more understanding on snapshotting please take a look at our documentation page about snapshots. The framework currently supports EventCountSnapshotTriggerDefinition only. If this is not sufficient, you can create your own trigger definition and register it within configuration components. However, if you think this should be part of the framework itself, you are welcomed to create an issue on our Github page or even a PR :).

Cheers,
Milan.

I have read the docs. However, when it comes to snapshots they only really explain theory and not actual practice or implementation.
If you know of a place with examples or more than the docs have in implementing custom triggers or actually using snapshot events, that would be helpful.

Thanks,
Chris.

Hi Chris,

As an example, we have an AxonTrader sample application. If you are using spring, you can refer to CompanyConfig class, and see how to create EventCountSnapshotTriggerDefinition as a bean. You can also wire the trigger definition manually to aggregateConfigurer:

aggregateConfigurer.configureSnapshotTrigger(c -> buildMySnapshotTrigger(c));