Sending Events to Event Bus

Hello Everyone

I am very new to AXON and CQRS world. I used the quick guide to see how AXON works and I am able to successfully run it on my machine.

I see that after setting up the infrastructure configuration, AXON automatically store the events on the persistence storage and publish events on the Event Bus.

Since I want to be sure for (Persistence and Publish ) of events as atomic i.e. either both are Successful or both fail ,
I would like to first store the event in the Persistence storage and once it is stored , I want that event to publish it on the event bus.

For doing this , I need to have control on when and how these events are persisted and published by AXON.

Also, I am thinking of running the background thread which listens to the Persistence storage , once event get stored , thread will publish the event on the
event bus and then thread will mark the event in the event store as Published.

HELP !!!

Hi Sally,

what you’re describing, is actually the default Axon behavior. Axon will always first store the events in the event store, and publish them to the bus afterwards.
If you attach a transaction manager to the unit of work, everything is dealt with transactionally as well.

If you really must customize this part, you’ll need to create your own UnitOfWork and configure a UnitOfWorkFactory. It’s not a road I’d recommend, though.

Cheers,

Allard

Hi Allard,

Thanks for your reply. Does it mean that we need to associate a TransactionManager to the command bus as shown below?

<axon:command-bus id=“commandBus” transaction-manager=“txManager”/>

Thanks | Abhishek

Yes, that is correct.

Cheers, Allard

And one more question:

how would I configure a transaction manager for the same. I tried this but no luck.

<axon:command-bus id=“commandBus” transaction-manager=“transactionManager”/>

Thanks | Abhishek

By the way, I am using mongodb as the event store and by spring config looks like this:

Hi,