Questions about @CommandHandler on the AxonBank project

Hello everyone,

I’m new to Axon. I watched the getting started videos and I’m going through the AxonBank project.
In the videos and firsts commits of the project, the CreateBankAccountCommand handler looks like:

@AggregateRoot
public class BankAccount {

@AggregateIdentifier
    private String id;
    private long overdraftLimit;
    private long balanceInCents;

@SuppressWarnings("unused")
    private BankAccount() {
    }

@CommandHandler
    public BankAccount(CreateBankAccountCommand command) {
        apply(new BankAccountCreatedEvent(command.getBankAccountId(), command.getOverdraftLimit()));
    }

Later on, the same command is handled slightly differently, using a repository:

public class BankAccountCommandHandler {

private Repository<BankAccount> repository;
    private EventBus eventBus;

public BankAccountCommandHandler(Repository<BankAccount> repository, EventBus eventBus) {
        this.repository = repository;
        this.eventBus = eventBus;
    }

@CommandHandler
    public void handle(CreateBankAccountCommand command) throws Exception {
        repository.newInstance(() -> new BankAccount(command.getBankAccountId(), command.getOverdraftLimit()));
    }

@Aggregate
public class BankAccount {

@AggregateIdentifier
    private String id;
    private long overdraftLimit;
    private long balanceInCents;

@SuppressWarnings("unused")
    private BankAccount() {
    }

public BankAccount(String bankAccountId, long overdraftLimit) {
        apply(new BankAccountCreatedEvent(bankAccountId, overdraftLimit));

}

My questions are:

1. What’s the difference between the 2 approaches?
  2. Is the second one the new recommended way?
  3. Is this documented somewhere? (I couldn’t find it on the reference guide)

Thanks.

Luiz Signorelli

Hi Luiz,

Hoping to supply you with some answers here :slight_smile: