Is it a regular CRUD on the front-end if it is using Axon on the back-end?

Hi all,

I am very new to the Axon framework and all the related stuff (DDD, CQRS, Event Sourcing).
After some exploring of the framework, the following question has arisen:
So, what about the front-end? Should it work as a regular CRUD application? or what?
Let’s say I will use Flutter at the front-end. Should this front-end work as a regular CRUD application? Or are there any other options?

Edit 1:
To clear my question.
If I am developing my front-end using Flutter to work on IOS and Android, I need my front-end app to work offline. So I need to save data on the local database in the device.
Of course, my front-end app will call REST endpoints of my Axon-based back-end.
Will my front-end app be a regular CRUD application that saves the final state of domain models? Are there any other options?
Thank you

Hi Ahmed,

in a successful CQRS/DDD implementation, front-end most likely will end up following so called Task-based UI approach, where UI is designed in a way that it captures user’s intents and translate them into the commands.

So it depends on how you model the entire system, you could represent the giant form editing as a single command, which will pretty much look like a U from CRUD, or you could try to identify what user really intends to do and decompose this U into further commands (intention revealing actions).

1 Like

Thanks for your reply Beka_Tsotsoria.
The Task-based UI link is useful.
I think I didn’t clear my question well. I updated it to be more clear.

It’s hard to say exactly without specific use cases and the direction of dataflow, but answering the following questions might help.