Inject a simple repository

Somehow I keep feeling like a total noob here - oh I am :slight_smile:

I have my event sourced aggregate, not going to do snapshots (JPA) for now (tried, but failed, so let’s stick to one principle first), and I need a rest service to return the complete aggregate given a certain id. I was in doubt if I needed to write a repository from scratch, but from the documentation and googling I gather there should be a default implementation. And indeed injecting “org.axonframework.modelling.command.Repository” into the rest service was successful.

However, the injected repo has a “load(String)” method. But the aggregate has a localdate as the identifier, not a string. And even if I convert the date to a string, the result of the load method is an Aggregate, not a RosterDate, and no method to get the actual aggregate. Also no “all()” or any query method.

Is it weird to expect, after the initial command and event chapter in the reference guide, an example with a repository? Or should I reconstruct the aggregate in one of the projections? Seems like a blatant violation of DRY.

So, how do I get an aggregate by its id?

Hi @tbee,

I would invert the question to you and ask why you need the Aggregate?
It’s not common at all to use the Aggregate for anything other than business rules!
The Aggregate shouldn’t contain any data other than the ones used for your rules (usually validations and business cases) and should not be used as a ‘query result’.

Maybe explaining your use case would help us to guide you better! =)

KR,

Ok. Good. That is where I want to go with my question.