How does the configuration of TokenStore work?

Hello,

Actually I wanted to choose the title “Java question: How does the configuration with EventProcessingConfigurer#registerTokenStore work?” but when clicking on “+ Create Topic” the forum software just spawned a popup that reads “Title seems unclear, one or two words is very long?”

I’m sorry for asking a question that is rather on Java but I didn’t receive an answer on stackoverflow. Yet it is of course Axon related because it’s about understanding an idiom that is used in order to configure it. I come from Ruby and I am still quite new to Java and I know from Ruby that some idioms are not obvious on the first glance and probably hard to understand for people who are new to Ruby.

So could you please explain to me how following code works ?

public class AxonConfig { 
    // ...
    public void registerTokenStore(EventProcessingConfigurer processingConfigurer) {
        TokenStore tokenStore = JpaTokenStore.builder()
                                             // …
                                             .build();

processingConfigurer.registerTokenStore(config -> tokenStore);
    }
}

I have found out about the idiom of functional interfaces with a single method and lambda expressions. Like in the case of EventProcessingConfigurer.PooledStreamingProcessorConfiguration

But this one is different.

registerTokenStore()

is an interface method. Check. The argument is a lambda-expression. Check. But it has a proper argument list, where the return type of the single parameter is a Function placeholder Object (what do you call it in Java?) and the parameter-name is tokenStore, so the method registerTokenStore() is a functional.