Handling retries and quarantine

So I have a basic sample with events being published over an AMQP event bus. In my setup, I have a very basic direct exchange - single queue with multiple listener processes all listening on the same queue.

In case a worker dies while processing a message, it should be requeued back and picked up by the next available listener. If say there’s something bad about the message, then the message should at max be retried for 4 times. After the 4th time, the message should be quarantined (maybe put on a dead letter queue).

For the first one above, I guess an explicit AMQP ack is required. Is there an example of configuring this on Axon amqp?

For the second requirement (fixed number of retries): I’m pretty new to AMQP as well - but looking at AMQP, it doesn’t offer anything around a dequeue count. Direction (from SO) seems to be to add a message header to indicate number of dequeues. Again, what’s a good extension point in Axon for this? Examples would be great :slight_smile:

On the Axon side, I see error handling section under event processing (http://www.axonframework.org/docs/2.3/event-processing.html) - but this just indicates that the event handler is retried after a delay (on the same node in case of a transient exception from the event handler)

Thanks!
Raghu

Hi Raghu,

you can configure Spring to handle events from the queue in a transaction. When the transaction fails, it puts the message on the queue again. I believe messages get a “resend” flag of some sort when this happens. In your cluster configuration, provide a (Spring) transaction manager to make this work.

When it comes to retrying an x number of times, I am not sure how this is done. Axon simply uses Spring AMQP to read messages, so most likely you need to configure Spring AMQP to do this.