Handling race condition in Aggregate

I’m pretty new to CQRS, events sourcing, DDD and Axon. My question is in the intersection of these areas and I am aware that questions I have are caused by the lack of knowledge and experince. Documentation and other resouces I was able to find have some examples but the case I have is a bit more complicated and I don’t know what is the good and canonical way to deal with it.

This is an example from the telecommunication area where we have a device and it may have multiple profiles one of which is active and the profile may be deactivated and another one may be activated.

This process is triggered from the ExternalParty. The activation of the profile involves some complex logic (encapsulated in profile bounded context) that may require other profile deactivation and/or deletion. Notifications about profile(s) lifecycle events may be sent to external systems called NotificationTarget for the purpose of this question. The rules specifying when, how and where these notifications should be sent are rather complicated and are implemented in notifications bounded context.

In the described scenario one more context is envolved - ExternalRequest. It is responsible for maintaining the state of the request from the ExternalParty, handling retries, timeouts etc. For the purpose of this question it is important as it knows when the response with the result about the successful request execution was successfully delivered to the ExternalParty.

One important business requirement is that notifications to NotificationTarget should be sent only if the ExternalParty that triggered the operation successfully received the result of such operation.