EventSourcingRepository not working - no UoW started

I recently started playing with Axon Framework, so I’m kinda new here.

Using Axon in connection with CQRS (Standard Repositories/Projections) works great.
But can’t figure out how to use EventSourcingRepositories, tried multiply solutions I’ve found online and it works, but always has to use

unitOfWork = DefaultUnitOfWork.startAndGet(null);

in front of or any EventSourcingRepository solution I’ve found otherwise I’m getting Exception

No UnitOfWork is currently started for this thread.

unitOfWork = DefaultUnitOfWork.startAndGet(null);
EventSourcingRepository<Tutor> repository = EventSourcingRepository.builder(Tutor.class).eventStore(this.eventStore).build();
        Tutor tutor = repository.load("id").getWrappedAggregate().getAggregateRoot();

Thank you for your help.

Hey @Daniel_S, and welcome to the forum!

Wherever you’re interacting with Axon Framework’s infrastructure components, I would foremost recommend to use the interface.
Thus, when directly interacting with an aggregate repository (which is similarly not a necessity), I would use the Repository.

Concerning the UnitOfWork issues, that’s because Axon Framework expects an active UnitOfWork whenever any type of message handling function’s invoked. Similarly, Axon will generate a UnitOfWork when messages are dispatched.
In essence, the UnitOfWork manages the complete lifecycle of messages and thus is the cornerstone of the Framework’s functionality.

The aggregate is a specialized message handler, as it’s a group of handlers together.
So, when dealing with your Aggregate, Axon expects an active UnitOfWork.

You can, indeed, start the UnitOfWork manually.
However, if you use Axon’s message buses instead of invoking the Repository directly, you are ensured a UnitOfWork is started and dealt with as intended.