EventSourceHandler's called for previous Events - before calling CommandHandler

Hi All,
Im new to Axon Framework, so forgive me for any nonsense i might be writing!

At the moment im beginning to understand how does the framework work in order to apply this to a project.

Lets say we have an UserAggregate class (@Aggregate).
in this class we have:

• RegisterUserCommand (annotated method @CommandHandler), that triggers a RegisterUserEvent

• UpdateUserCommand (annotated method @CommandHandler) that triggers a UpdateUserEvent

We also have 2 EventSourceHandlers (1 for each event)

Lets say that i follow the bellow sequence:
1 - RegisterUser -
2 - UpdateUser (1st update)
3 - UpdateUser ( 2nd update - changed some other property)

When i was debugging my 3rd operation (2nd update) i noticed that the following happened in this order (after sending the Command to the commandGateway of course)

1 - The EventSourceHandler for the RegisterUserEvent was called
2 - The EventSourceHandler for the 1st UpdateUserEvent was called (with the correspondent values of the 1st update)
3 - The CommandHandler for the UpdateUserCommand was called
4 - The EventSourceHandler for the 2nd UpdateUserEvent was called

When i fire the 2nd UserUpdate i was expecting that 3 and 4 alright, so my question is:
why is the EventSourceHandler’s of the previous events for that AggregateId being triggered? is this to rebuild the state of the Aggregate?

Hello Daniel,

To answer your question, is this to rebuild the state of the Aggregate?
Yes, this is expected behavior. It is known as the Event Sourcing pattern.

Previous to actually handling the command in CommandHandler, Axon Framework will

1. read all the events (with aggregate ID) from the event store (Axon Server or some other DB)
  2. execute all EventSourceHandler’s that are matching the event types to build the current state of the aggregate.