Event upcaster tutorial

Hi team,

I’m new to Axon framework.

Would it be possible to share some tutorial on Event Upcasting, I’m struggling in creating one.
I have an aggregate for phisical Users with several thousand of real users already joined and now I have to add business users with their business company names, addresses etc, which causes some major changes in the aggregate.

Would really appreciate.

Thanks you,
Rashid

Hi Rashid,

I’d suggest you check out the Reference Guide on this topic, which you can find here.
From a tutorial perspective, you can follow the training we provide, which can either be on-site or as a public format.

If you have any question when implementing an Upcaster, feel free to drop them here.
But make them more specific than an entire tutorial.

If other attendees of the User group are willing to provide one, by all means.

Cheers,
Steven

Thanks Steven, I think that the Event Upcasting is one of the most frustrating parts of the Axon framework for beginners. If somebody could share a small primer, that would boost the usage of the framework.
Specific questions would follow based on that primer.

Regards,
Rashid

Hi Rashid,

It is undoubtedly a difficult thing to grasp, granted.
You might have seen the Quickstart Video series we have on YouTube.
I am playing with the idea to eventually provide more advanced videos as well, for example about Upcasters.

Until that video is in place, I do feel that the samples contained in the Reference Guide would be a fine “primer” as you call it.

If I’d make a recording out of building one, it wont deviate that much from those snippets.

Hence, I am not sure what more information you require in this area at this point, as there is not much else to it.

Kind regards,

Steven van Beelen

Axon Framework Lead Developer

AxonIQ

twitter-icon_128x128.png

Hello Steven,

I am having the same problem with the understanding of Upcaster.