Event Sourcing with Axon

Good evening

I am a newbie with Axon. I have a question about Event Sourcing with Axon. I am looking for an opinion and hear your experience with event sourcing

1. A command is triggered using a CommandGateway
  2. A command handler capture the command and apply an event.
  3. An eventsourcing handler passes the values from the event to the aggregator
  4. An eventhandler will execute to save the data into the read model

That is my little knowledge in how Axon works. After that everything is cloudy.

My read model is a table in Postgres. That I am saving it when and event handler happens. Notice that I am not combining the eventsourcinghandler annotation with the eventhandler. Is that the correct approach? I have been reading about event sourcing that you need to read all the events from the event source to obtain the current state, however, I have not found how this work with Axon.

Also, I have read that you can basically create a process where load all the events in memory so it can be used for the application during the day, but if that is the case I guess my point 4 should not happen.

Could someone explain a little bit more about how this happen or can be done in Axon? Maybe my question does not make any sense, but if do not could you also please tell me how can I do a read model with Axon.

Richard

Note that there is a more generic DDD/CQRS google groups as well, you should subscribe there to get more into the cqrs way of thinking.

The current state of the AR is reconstructed each time you send a command to the AR. The eventstream is read and all events are applied in sequence (basically your @EventSourcingHandler annotated methods are called) to the AR. This is fully taken care of by Axon. The AR is just there to preserve consistency and validity of your model. It should contain just the data it needs to safeguard this consistency.