Event Handlers without an aggregate

I am new to the axon framework. I am using a distributed event bus via kafka (axon extensions framework). I have two separate applications. One application will be publishing events whose handlers are present in the second application. Now, the event messages are being published to the kafka topic but it is not handled by the event handles present in the second application.

The second application does not have an aggregate class. It only has a class where all the event handlers are present. The event handler class is annotated with @Component and @Processing group(“test”). The processing group: “test” is configured to be tracking and its’ source is streamableKafkaSource which is configured with the proper kafka topic and the kafka consumer id. I also created a bean of the event handler class. What should I add more to get the event handlers working?

Unfortunately, I cannot share the code outside of my company’s network and thanks in advance for any kind of hep.

Hi,

Can you share which version of Kafka module you are using, please? …and are these two applications Axon apps?
I hope that this first application is Axon app and that it is publishing events via Kafka extension as well. It is fine if you have only event handlers on the second app, you do not need aggregate there for this to work.

Best,
Ivan

Yes, the two applications are axon apps. The first application is publishing events via the kafka extension. The kafka version is 2.3.1

It could be somewhere in your configuration. Hopefully, you are using the latest version of Axon Kafka module.

The docs are located here: https://docs.axoniq.io/reference-guide/extensions/kafka
The implementation of the extension can be found here . The shared repository also contains a sample project using the extension.

I hope this helps, but I’m not able to do much more if you can not share your configuration here :frowning:

Best,
Ivan