disabling hbm2ddl schema export on query side

I’m new to Axon and working on building a simple microservice model based on a slightly modified version of https://github.com/benwilcock/pcf-axon-cqrs-demo

My tweak has been to separate the database, using Mongo as the EventStore on the command side and Postgres on the query side.

I have this working but not the way I want. The command side is working fine, EventStore collections are created in Mongo. The trouble is on the query side. Axon is auto-generating the EventStore tables as well as the Entity tables. I don’t need the event store tables because they aren’t used nor need I want auto-generated Entity tables because I’m managing query side tables with Flyway.

I’ve tried adding the following configuration to application.yml but it didn’t make any difference:

spring:
  jpa:
    generate-ddl: false
hibernate:
  hbm2ddl:
    auto: none

Any suggestions on how to disable hbm2dll in Axon? Alternatively, is the full Axon Framework really required on the read side? My understanding is that Spring simply needs to read events coming off of a Rabbit queue and persist them.

Since I’m new to this, please point out any ‘errors in thinking’ :slight_smile:

thx
Justin

Hi Justin,

Axon doesn’t create any tables at all. All Axon does automatically, is register the Entities with the EntityManager (via Spring Boot). It’s you JPA implementation (probably Hibernate) that’s actually generating the tables.
Why setting those values doesn’t have an impact beats me, but it definitely doesn’t relate to Axon at all.
I always set the spring.jpa.hibernate.ddl-auto property myself.

Furthermore, in Spring Boot, DDL is off by default if you are not using an in-memory database.