CQRS/ES and GDPR

Before going into the subject, I must say that I’m fairly new to both subjects.
I runned into some conference talks about ES while trying to find a solution for a problem that I was working on. That got me so intrested into ES that i kept digging futher and futher into the subject. With everything I found I got even more intrested into it, until I runned into the GDPR art. 17 discussions. Apperently everyone was trying to find the right solution around 2018, but after that it seems to be rather silent.

Solutions I found so far:

Pseudonymisation of the Personally Identifiable Information.
Pro’s:

• Beeing able to delete the data without touching the events in the Event Store.
  • We can easily substitute/anonimise the PII data instead of deleting it.
  • Beeing able to regulate the data that requires more security (people can see the event but not the PII data).

Con’s:

• No single source of truth
  • What happens when additional data is beeing considered as PII? How will we handle this? Those fields are inside the event (instead of the additional datasource).
  • Need to completely replay all events for all projections to be sure all the data is gone (unless we join the additional datastore on the projection and don’t put this data directly into the projection).
  • Nit beeing able to replay all the events once data has been deleted from the appended datastore. (For example when we want to build new projections from scratch).
  • Not beeing able to recover the state in the past.

Crypto-thrashing
Pro’s:

• We encrypt the PII data right away, adding an additional security layer, if we keep the encryption key in a different store.
  • The least intesive task (just throw away the key).

Con’s:

• Not all countries/laws agree that encrypting + throwing away the key is the same as deleting data. Reasoning is because the key could be recovered/bruteforced at a later date (think about quantum computing). The data is not really gone.