CommandBus + Spring Cloud (Netflix Ribbon)

Hello,

Forgive me nativity as I’m new to the event sourcing and CQRS world. I’m hoping axon and this forum can solve some of the questions i have around managing a distributed transaction.
I’m still making my way through all the documentation and samples axon has to offer. Please forgive me if this question has already been answered.
I’m still trying to nail down all these concepts in my head… but ideally, the question i’d like to answer is some way or form is…

How do we achieve command handling and event handling at scale?

For the eventBus, I’ve seen mention on the group about possibly using Kafka consumers to fulfil that role.
For the commandBus, I’ve seen reference to JGroup connectors to solve distributed command handling. I’ve also seen a few concerns raised about this, with regards to using it in the cloud.

So my question is…

Has anybody looked at using spring cloud and particularly ribbon to solve distributed command handling?
Instead of statically binding to VM’s , why not plug the command handling into the service discovery and let ribbon(or something similar) do the client side load balancing?
Or is there something else i’m missing that JGroups gives us?

Thanks,
–KD

Hi,

first of all, yes, we are looking at Spring Cloud as well for message routing in Axon, and vice versa as well. We have regular discussions with the Spring Cloud developers about this. The conclusion somfar is that it is probably suitable for events, but most likely not for commands.

Events and Commands are very different types of messages. Events describe something from the past. They’re sent using fire and forget, and multiple components may be interested in processing them. Therefore, Events are sent through some sort of message broker. In Axon 3, the event store itself can act as such a broker.