Calling an external rest api from inside of an aggregate

Hello,

I have a case where I need to do a sit reservation in external API and register that event in the EventStore.
So, a user requests our Rest API to reserve a sit, controller catches that request.

Next I need to decide:

1. Place (inject) the WebRequest to the external RestAPI inside the aggregate. Once aggregate receives response from the external system, it changes its state and responses to the controller.
  2. Do this logic in the controller
  3. Your suggestions, please.

What is the correct way of implementing this functionality?

Thanks,

Rashid

Hi Rashid,

I’m a little new to the domain driven design world and it’s certainly a change in the way that you look at the world. I believe that an aggregate should only really know about it’s own data, it’s own state and it’s own invariants. It shouldn’t have any knowledge about how to connect to an external system.

One approach would be:-

• Controller calls a Service
  • Service calls the Rest API
  • Service updates the Aggregate via the the commandGateway once the service returns

Alternatively, Sagas are designed to handle problems like these but I’m not 100% sure if they can run synchronously, which I understand may be your requirement.

Cheers
John

Hi Rashid,

the way I always explain it, is as follows:
What if the external systems was an Axon application as well, and had a proper command handler. What would you have done? Probably have some component, somewhere, send a command, which would end up in that component, which would provide you with a return value. Perhaps they would also send some events that you could be interested in. Would you care about their choice in aggregate boundaries? Most likely not.