Axon Upcasting, do I have to create an upcaster for each revision?

I have looked through the code in the example of document and I wonder. So I’m concerning that, do I have to create an upcaster for each revision. Suppose, I have like 10 revisions for a single event. Do I need to create 10 classes for upcasting from revision 1 to 10. And also if I have a lot of events in my application that need to be changed, do I need to create an upcaster for each of them.

Hi,

I am not an Axon developer, but I will still try and answer your question.

You can write an upcaster which handles multiple events and multiple revisions. This can be done by implementing EventUpcaster instead of extending SingleEventUpcaster. The following example upcaster is able to handle four different types of events (MyEvent1 to MyEvent4) and upcasts them from Revision 1 directly to Revision 5. The upcaster assumes that the payload can be transformed into a JsonNode.

@Component
@Order( 1 )
final class MyUpcaster implements EventUpcaster {

private final List<String> relevanteEvents = Arrays.asList(
			MyEvent1.class.getCanonicalName( ),
			MyEvent2.class.getCanonicalName( ),
			MyEvent3.class.getCanonicalName( ),
			MyEvent4.class.getCanonicalName( ) );

@Override
	public Stream<IntermediateEventRepresentation> upcast( final Stream<IntermediateEventRepresentation> intermediateRepresentations ) {
		return intermediateRepresentations.map( this::potentialUpcast );
	}

private IntermediateEventRepresentation potentialUpcast( final IntermediateEventRepresentation intermediateRepresentation ) {
		final SerializedType serializedType = intermediateRepresentation.getType( );
		if ( serializedType.getRevision( ).equals( "1" ) && relevantEvents.contains( serializedType.getName( ) ) ) {
			return intermediateRepresentation.upcastPayload( new SimpleSerializedType( serializedType.getName( ), "5" ), JsonNode.class, this::upcast );
		} else {
			return intermediateRepresentation;
		}
	}