Axon Server + Rabbit MQ

Hi everybody,

I’m still new to Axon and haven’t tried it in production so far :nerd_face:, but i’m standing in front of some architectural decisions and would like to get better picture here.

As far I understood, Axon Server seem to be a (relative performant?) Event Storage Solution - it is designed to be such thing, so an Event Database which supports querying and subscription?

Am I missing some parts? Do I need a companion Service like message broker here?
Some authors use them together with Axon Server:

Can you bring some light on this topic?

P.S.
The simple scenario I have in mind is that some services produce events and some consume by subscribing to them on the Axon Server. Potentially some of them are not written with Axon Framework.

Hi.

I was about to create a topic similar, I have the exactly same doubt.

Actually I have a architecture which rely on Spring Boot + Cloud Stream + RabbitMQ.

So let’s say that I have to register a Person on Microservice A and ask to Microservice B to store there too and confirm in Microservice A that everything went well.

Microservice A <- produces -> CreatePersonCommand <- consume -> Microservice B
Microservice B <- save person/produces -> PersonCreatedEvent <- consume/active person -> Microservice A

Actually this occurs by RabbitMQ (Consumers/Producers) using topics.
Axon Server could replace this idea?

For example, in that case Microservice A and B could listen e act by Axon Server the same idea?

Or should I still need a broker like Kafka or RabbitMQ?

1 Like

Here is a quote from Axon Server - Axon Reference Guide

Axon Server has knowledge about the different types of messages that are being exchanged: events, sent from one service to one or many other services, to notify the services that something has happened, commands, sent to one service to do something, potentially waiting for a result queries, sent to one or more services to retrieve information.