What are entities?

Hi,

beginner here. I would like to ask for a specification what is actually considered an Entity and also what is NOT considered an Entity in the context of Axon Framework 3.0. I could not find this described anywhere.

Thanks,
Áron

Hi Áron,

Where possible, Axon uses the terminology defined by DDD. In that sense, an Entity is a building block in a model that maintains state of a certain concept. In Axon, (or more generally, in CQRS), you can find Entities on both the Command and the Query side.

The description given by Domain Driven Design is a good starting point. Paul Rayner has written a nice post about Entities and Aggregates (both very important concepts in Axon): http://thepaulrayner.com/blog/aggregates-and-entities-in-domain-driven-design/

Cheers,

Allard

Hi,

thanks for the answer, but I am sorry, I tried to read that post (in fact I read it, it just doesn’t really make sense to me because of the heavy use of terminology), and it tries to answer my question from a different angle then from I would understand it.
What I am curious about, what is the datastructure that at any point it’s evolution might be called an Entity? What are the necessary features that it has to possess so it is acceptable to be called Entity?

However your link did raise another issue for me. How would one go and create an admin interface where an end user would be able to create on the fly new kinds of Aggregates?

Regards,
Áron

Hi Aaron,

Image a Person class with 3 properties: id, name and clothes.
The fact that we use an “id” here, already tells us that we can change some properties, but still recognize it as the same person. So we can change the name, or (more realistically) changes that person’s clothes. It’s still the same person.