Handling business error w/o relying on exceptions, is it possible (and a good idea)?

Hi all!
I’m new to Axon (and to event sourcing…and to CQRS…at least in practice, even if I’ve known the concept since a long time)…so be patient :sweat_smile:.
I’m trying to understand if it would be possible (and a "good’ idea, I mean…no bad side effects / risks) to deal with business errors without relying on exceptions but with some “functional like” solution like Result/Either (just in case any of you doesn’t know what this is about, basically just return an object encapsulating the error details instead of throwing an exception).
It seem to me that for standard command handlers it’s not a problem, they have a return value.
The main issue I see it the @CommandHandler constructor.
I tried with a @CommandHandler static factory method but I was not able to return the Result (static @CommandHandler methods must declare a return value which is equal to or a subclass of the declaring type).
Any comment/suggestion welcome :slight_smile:

Hi there Luca!

It is definitely possible, If it’s important in your domain to preserve information regarding errors (and perhaps the reject reason) I would personally apply an event stating that the action failed. This can be handled in a projection, or saved for later use.

If that’s not an option, and you want to avoid exceptions, you can return a result from your constructor. Take a look at the @CreationPolicy annotation. You can define a normal @CommandHandler with a policy of @CreationPolicy(AggregateCreationPolicy.ALWAYS), effectively turning into a constructor.
You can find it in the reference guide in this location.