Events raised in event handlers and IllegalStateException: 'Cannot set first sequence number if events have already been added'

Hi,

I am relatively new to Axon so please forgive any basic errors!

When trying to construct a complex aggregate, I am first creating the aggregate root which extends AbstractAnnotatedAggregateRoot like so:

MyComplexAggregateRoot(AggregateIdentifier identifier) {
super(identifier);
}

public MyComplexAggregateRoot(AggregateRootDto aggregateRootDto) {
super(new UUIDAggregateIdentifier());
apply(new MyComplexAggregateRootCreatedEvent(aggregateRootDto));
}

@EventHandler
private void onCreate(MyComplexAggregateRootCreatedEvent event) {

// business logic to create aggregate structure (uses builder pattern)
}

I am also catching the ‘MyComplexAggregateRootCreatedEvent’ event in an event handler in the query side so that I can persist a representation of the ‘MyComplexAggregateRoot’ object in the query database.
This is all ok and working as expected.

The aggregate itself contains many objects that are constructed in the ‘onCreate’ event handler, I also need information from these objects in my query database and this information is not available when the MyComplexAggregateRootCreatedEvent event is constructed. I am therefore registering/applying further events when these objects are created. This works as expected and the object structure and query database representation are generated as expected. However, when the aggregate root is loaded from the repository (i.e. reconstructed from the events in the repository), this causes and IllegalStateException:

14:14:51.108 [main] WARN o.a.repository.LockingRepository - Exception occurred while trying to load an aggregate. Releasing lock.
java.lang.IllegalStateException: Cannot set first sequence number if events have already been added
at org.axonframework.util.Assert.state(Assert.java:40) ~[axon-core-1.0.jar:na]