Best practices for using Command handlers

Hi,

In the documentation it’s explained that you can either have a separate command handler class, or you can put @CommandHandler annotations on the aggregates, and since I’m new to this, I wonder what are the consequences (positive/negative) of choosing either way?

For example: Would a good advice be to put a @CommandHandler on the constructor of an aggregate to create the actual aggregate, but to have a separate command handler class to handle all other commands?

I can for example also see that the Axon-trader app is not making use of @CommandHandler on constructors of aggregates, and also have distinct command handler classes instead of having @CommandHandler annotated methods.

Should we consider the Axon-trader application as a source of best practises, overriding any examples in the documentation? It’s kinda confusing and overwhelming when I’m new to Axon and CQRS and try to apply best practices to the code from the beginning :slight_smile:

The use of @CommandHandler on constructors of aggregate-roots is quite new, and I think Axon Trader just hasn’t been updated to do it that way yet.

In my experience the Axon documentation is superb (some of the best I’ve ever seen) and it is kept well up-to-date, so you should prefer that over examples if there is ever a conflict. Any such conflict is probably just because of a bit of version skew, like in this case with Axon Trader.

It seems to me (and I am not an expert) that the choice of where to put a @CommandHandler method should be made for each command independently. It very much depends on the nature of the command. You might consider:

• Whether the command is really specific to just one aggregate-root instance, or whether it has wider reach. Does the command mention the ID of one aggregate-root, or more than one? (Although even if it mentions more than one, one of those IDs might still be the “natural” @TargetAggregateIdentifier).