Axon 3 handling deleted Aggregates

All,

I am fairly new to Axon and I am attempting to create an aggregate that can be deleted and recreated. I am using event sourcing and a deleted event is allowed. I am essentially maintaining a list of supported countries for the application. Currently, I am using a boolean, but I read somewhere there is a way to flag an aggregate as deleted instead? How does this work in Axon 3?

@Entity
@EqualsAndHashCode
@Aggregate(repository = "jpaCountryRepository")
@NoArgsConstructor
public class Country {
    @Id
    @AggregateIdentifier
    private CountryCode code;
    private boolean active;

@CommandHandler
    public Country(AddCountryCommand command) {
        apply(new AddCountryEvent(command.getCode(), command.getName()));
    }

public void handle(RemoveCountryCommand command) {
        apply(new RemoveCountryEvent(command.getCode()));
    }

@EventSourcingHandler
    public void on(AddCountryEvent event) {
        code = event.getCode();
        active = true;
    }

@EventSourcingHandler
    public void on(RemoveCountryEvent event) {
        active = false;
    }
}

If you are maintaining a list of countries then your AR is that list, not the individual country. That list probably has a meaning business wise (AllowedCountriesForExport for example) and you should name it accordingly. Makes sense ?

Jorg

Jorg,

That makes a lot of sense! How do I manage my aggregate Identifiers with a list being my aggregate? In that scenario I feel like this is more of a hashmap with country being a key? Thank you for the advice!

You would create an actual java class “MyCountryList” encapsulating the actual collection (map or list does not matter)

Jorg

Gotta that makes sense. Since the @AggregateIdentifier annotation right now links me to a specific record in my table, does that mean I would want to adjust that to just be the @Id of the “MyCountryList” Java class and then in the commandHandlers retrieve the appropriate record?