Always active saga

Hello,
I’m a student and a few days ago I was introduced to Axon and DDD.
Is there a way to have a saga that will always be active, or is there an event that will start it with the application? I hope I’m wording this right.
I need it to be listening to events about messages and then send notifications every half an hour about the new ones, but I don’t know how to start it because I don’t need it to start for the first time when a message is sent, I need it to be already listening. I’m not sure if saga is the right thing to use here, too, so if it isn’t, what could I use?

Hi Arya,

Great to hear that you’re using the framework as a student!

To answer your question though, I think you shouldn’t be looking at Saga’s to solve your problem.

A regular Event Handling Component would be far better suited for the scenario you provide.

That component/class would contain the required @EventHandler annotated functions for the events you’re interested in, and very likely store them through some mechanism.

Additionally, that component (or a different service) would be triggered every x-minutes (30 in your case, as you’re stating ‘every half an hour’) to query all the new messages from your preferred storage mechanism.

Then you’d obviously be able to send the notification of all the new events that have been handled.

Very likely, you’d remove the messages you’ve send notifications for after that notification has been send.

Hope this helps you somewhat Arya!

Cheers,

Steven

Hi Arya, Steven,
I agree that some other component might be used as well, but there is one thing that Saga aboard out-of-the-box => persistence of the state and ability to ‘continue’ after restart. Achieving that with some other component would be quite more effort I think.